The Lido

The Lido

A Novel

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
"A tender, joyous debut novel about a cub reporter and her eighty-six-year-old subject--and the unlikely and life-changing friendship that develops between them. Kate is a twenty-six-year-old riddled with anxiety and panic attacks who works for a local paper in Brixton, London, covering forgettably small stories. When she's assigned to write about the closing of the local lido (an outdoor pool and recreation center), she meets Rosemary, an eighty-six-year-old widow who has swum at the lido daily since it opened its doors when she was a child. It was here Rosemary fell in love with her husband, George; here that she's found communion during her marriage and since George's death. The lido has been a cornerstone in nearly every part of Rosemary's life. But when a local developer attempts to buy the lido for a posh new apartment complex, Rosemary's fond memories and sense of community are under threat. As Kate dives deeper into the lido's history--with the help of a charming photographer--she pieces together a portrait of the pool, and a portrait of a singular woman, Rosemary. What begins as a simple local interest story for Kate soon blossoms into a beautiful friendship that provides sustenance to both women as they galvanize the community to fight the lido's closure. Meanwhile, Rosemary slowly, finally, begins to open up to Kate, transforming them both in ways they never knew possible. In the tradition of Frederick Backman, The Lido is a charming, feel-good novel that captures the heart and spirit of a community across generations--an irresistible tale of love, loss, aging, and friendship"-- Provided by publisher
Publisher: New York : Simon & Schuster, 2018
Copyright Date: 2018
ISBN: 9781501182037
150118203X
9781501182051
1501182056
Characteristics: 310 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
h
Hecken
Feb 17, 2019

Five stars for this heartwarming novel in which an elderly widow and young journalist join forces. "The Lido" is an easy, enjoyable read with short chapters, and not without some suspense and a few surprises.

b
brangwinn
Feb 02, 2019

This is what I call a comfort book, kind of like the Number 1 Ladies Detective Agency books. The characters are real. Their problems are real and the solutions satisfying. Like Mma Ramotswe, it is also a reminder of how important community is. When lonely newspaper reporter, Kate, meets 86-year-old Rosemary, she discovers a community surrounding a Brixton pool which is about to close. Kate and Rosemary begin a campaign to keep the pool open. I love the descriptions the author puts in about aging and how Rosemary’s marriage to George soon after the end of WWII is a vital part of the story.

Megan_Library Jan 15, 2019

What an outstanding novel! The Lido: A Novel by Libby Page is a book all about friendship and how it really has no age limits. I not only experienced tears and hysterical laughing moments apart within the same chapter, but I also had some great deja-vu memories of when I worked as a lifeguard for the City of Ottawa pools as a teenager and young adult. This is a beautiful story of friendship between an elderly woman named Rosemary and the self-conscious and anxiety ridden, 26 year old journalist named Kate. Aspiring journalist Kate, is given the task of writing an article of the potential closure of the lido and is asked to interview the oldest and most avid swimmer of the lido; 86 year old Rosemary. She has lived through wars and poverty but has always found peace and rejuvenation through her community pool lido and through her memories of her loving and late husband George. As Rosemary cherishes her memories of George and herself together at the lido, she is determined to keep these memories alive despite the Brockwell Lido going up for sale to a private company called Paradise Living. Over the course of time, Rosemary and Kate team up to try and protect the lido. Their unlikely bond blossoms into a beautiful story of friendship and determination in hopes of saving their cherished, Brixton community lido. The Lido was written with clear language which allowed the novel to flow naturally like water splashing between swimming pool lanes. The easy text will allow for the reader to be able to digest this inspiring story in one sitting or savor it over time, which is exactly what I did. I rate this book 5 out of 5 stars for this uplifting story of two leading ladies and their bond over swimming and saving history.

u
Urbano
Nov 28, 2018

Though I found the prose style somewhat flat, I was moved by the story itself and found it a touching exploration of community, friendship and love. A good example of the new "up-lit" genre.

OLATHEAllisonA Oct 12, 2018

Like a cool swim on a hot day, "The Lido" will quench the thirst of any reader looking for a gentle and gratifying read. I adored Page's prose and how deftly she interweaves the story of Rosemary, the 86-year-old whose life is so closely tied to the public pool, and Kate, the 26-year-old whose life is clouded by anxiety and loneliness. There were a few times that I was brought to tears as I read about Kate and her struggles; for anyone who has battled anxiety, Page's writing will hit close to home in a way that will remind you you're not alone. By the end of the book, my heart felt uplifted and encouraged. I highly recommend this!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
MARINet owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top