The Poet X

The Poet X

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
9
1
Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking
Harlem. Ever since her body grew into curves, Xiomara Batista has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking. She pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers-- especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about. Mami is determined to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, and Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. When she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she can't stop thinking about performing her poems
Publisher: New York, NY : HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2018]
Edition: First edition
Copyright Date: ©2018
ISBN: 9780062662804
0062662805
Characteristics: 361 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

a
aacosta4092
Oct 04, 2018

This book became on of my all-time favorites. It truly is a different experience to be able to see yourself in books and relate to the characters! I cried, laughed, understood, and fell in love with poetry.

DPLjosie Oct 01, 2018

Lyrical, powerful, beautiful. I don't tend to enjoy stories in verse, but this one blew me away! If you love poetry, pick it up. If you're meh on verse, try this one out, it might sway you.

Both the print book and the audiobook were amazing!

RDPL_Teens Aug 18, 2018

A beautifully written coming-of-age story. Xiomara (AKA Poet X) narrates her experience in verse, making this book a quick but emotional read, as she deals with first-love, questioning her faith, an over-protective parent, and finding the courage to share her poems/voice with the world.

JCLHebahA Aug 01, 2018

I loved the strong sense of voice in this verse novel (brought to life brilliantly in audiobook form by the author's own narration). Xiomara's frustrations with family and a world that feels entitled to comment on her body and what she should do with it at every turn was very relevant and, I suspect, relatable even if not all readers have to contend with tough Dominican parents.

OPL_KrisC Jun 13, 2018

A teen girl with immigrant parents struggles with her mother's expectations while trying to stay true to herself and figure out who she is. This is a gritty novel in verse with some language and is quite heart-wrenching at times. For readers of Jason Reynolds and Angie Thomas.

b
bookycakes
May 30, 2018

Although I did like it, I didn't quite connect with the voice until late in the novel. Black sheep opinion, but I'm sure it'll take me time to appreciate novels like this as I try to expand my reading horizons. Right now, novels in verse and especially about family life aren't my cup of tea, but this one was powerful near the end.

I loved the poetry. The poetry in this novel is rhythmic and the voice is pure. Xiomara uses her poems to make sense of the world around her and express herself. Her mother makes assumptions about her daughter's life because of her physical development. She fails to get to know the girl beneath the figure, and Xiomara struggles with this. Xiomara is confused and struggling to find her place. She questions her mother's religion, and wants to understand herself and her motivations before committing to her mother's religion. Xiomara is seeking her place in the world and expresses this search in her poetry. The supporting characters were well drawn and believable. The writing is beautiful and the search for self, and finding your place in the world felt true to the teen experience. I really enjoyed this one, and could relate to Xiomara's search for acceptance.

JCLChrisK May 01, 2018

A wonderfully complex look at love and self-expression. Xiomara (see-oh-MAH-ruh) has learned to respond to some offenses with her fists, but to most things she has no reply. She is largely silent, especially in the face of being objectified by males and feeling oppressed by her mother's strict interpretation of her religion. Then she discovers slam poetry as a way she might give voice to her tightly restrained feelings. Of course, being who she wants to be means not being who everyone else wants her to be, which means painful conflict. She shares her story as a novel-in-verse beautifully, struggles and all.

vm510 Apr 10, 2018

This was such an engaging read! I loved the writing - and especially as someone who usually doesn't gravitate toward verse, I was surprised how much I loved this. The poetry was definitely more "slam" and I think that may be why I liked it so much. It flows beautifully and it has striking lines that make you nod your head yes. Most of all, it was a verse novel where I felt I understood and learned about all of the characters fully + Xiomara is a fantastic main character. I definitely recommend this if you're looking for a contemporary YA read that's bold and fresh. The audiobook, narrated by the author, is fantastic.

Age

Add Age Suitability

OPL_KrisC Jun 13, 2018

OPL_KrisC thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MARINet

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top