Dryland

Dryland

A Novel

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
"It's 1992, and the world is caught up in the HIV/AIDS epidemic and the Balkan Wars, but for fifteen-year-old Julie Winter, the news is noise. In Portland, Oregon, Julie moves through her days in a series of negatives: the skaters she doesn't think are cute, the trinkets she doesn't buy at the craft fair, the umbrella she refuses to carry despite the incessant rain. Her family life is routine and restrained, and no one talks about Julie's older brother, a one-time Olympic-hopeful swimmer who now lives in self-imposed exile in Berlin. Julie has never considered swimming herself, until Alexis, the girls' swim team captain, tries to recruit her. It's a dare, and a flirtation--and a chance for Julie to find her brother, or to finally let him go. Anything could happen when her body hits water" -- provided by publisher
Publisher: Portland, Oregon : Tin House Books, 2015
Edition: First US edition
ISBN: 9781941040133
1941040136
Characteristics: 216 pages ; 20 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
ladxcore
Jan 24, 2016

This book is very sweet and elegantly written and very much gives the spirit of what it's like coming of age as a queer teen.

LPL_MollyW Dec 18, 2015

Dryland tells the coming of age of Julie in 1990s Portland. Imperious and insecure, Julie is stumbling toward adulthood. Jaffe explores issues Julie's of identity, family, and sexuality by reveling in contradictions rather than seeking answers to questions. The unadorned prose captures the volatile emotions of adolescence. This compact novel is perfect for fans of The Miseducation of Cameron Post by emily m. danforth and The Carnival at Bray by Jessie Ann Foley.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MARINet

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top