Second Life

Second Life

A Novel

eBook - 2015
Average Rating:
15
Rate this:
Julia's life is comfortable, if unremarkable, until her sister's brutal murder opens old wounds. She finds solace in her sister's best friend, Sophie, but when Sophie reveals the extent of her sister's online life, Julia becomes convinced that the truth about her death lies deep in the dark, sordid world of online chatrooms and internet sex.
Publisher: New York : HarperCollins, 2015
Edition: First U.S. edition
ISBN: 9780062060600
Characteristics: text file
1 online resource
Additional Contributors: OverDrive, Inc

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

l
lovesensation24
Jul 18, 2016

I actually really enjoyed this book. I couldn't put it down and I read it in 4 days but I must say, the ending was ordinary and I was pretty disappointed with the lack of answers to the various plots and twists throughout the novel.

CMLibrary_csmith Feb 28, 2016

A thrilling page-turner! This thriller kept me engaged from beginning to end. Lots of twists and turns! The suspense builds to a shocking conclusion, one that some may not like, but does add a spin at the end. S.J. Watson really makes us think about the decisions we make and the possible consequences of those decisions. Will the outcome always be what we expect? Fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train will find similar elements in this thriller too!

c
chmac
Dec 31, 2015

I had enjoyed "Before I go to sleep" until I got to the preposterous ending, which required you to suspend all disbelief. I saw the second book, and was looking forward to it until I realized that you had to suspend disbelief for the entire novel. Unbelievable plot with stupid people making stupid choices, coincidences that are just too convenient, and altogether a waste of time. Won't be reading any more from this author.

g
gvlee
Oct 02, 2015

Do not waste your time on this trashy novel. The protagonist is unlikeable and makes irritatingly stupid choices. There is no proper resolution at the end of the novel; it's like the author couldn't come up with an ending that he liked, so he just didn't bother to write an ending at all. The author's first book, "Before I Go to Sleep" is much better. Go read that one, instead.

p
PansyT
Sep 18, 2015

I looked forward to this second book by S.J.Watson, as I had very much enjoyed his first, 'Before I go to Sleep'. However, I think he missed the mark this time, writing in the voice of a woman. The plot was so contrived, and unbelievable, and I kept thinking, "No one would ever do that!!" as the protagonist kept putting herself into obviously foolish situations. So, it's a quick read, but not satisfying.

c
CrystalTony
Aug 17, 2015

I am never reading a book by S. J. Watson ever again. His books are great until the very last page when they leave you hanging. Regretted reading it in the first place.

0
0007548100dmw
Aug 08, 2015

Great book...a real page turner.
His first book, Before I go to sleep was very good. This one is even better.

ehbooklover Aug 08, 2015

3.5 stars. I'll admit that I found this book pretty dull at the beginning and at times I wasn't sure if I would finish it. However, this slow buildup eventually led to a crazy page-turner of a thriller that I couldn't stop reading. The huge twist that I didn't see coming, coupled with an ending that leaves the reader with a lot of unanswered questions, turned this one around for me.

p
palmer0808
Jul 29, 2015

Intriguing book, it was trippy how it all tied together in the end. Some of it was drawn out, but the ending is totally worth the wait!

booklady413 Jul 13, 2015

Excellent thriller.

View All Comments

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MARINet

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top