First Frost

First Frost

A Novel

Large Print - 2015
Average Rating:
15
2
Rate this:
It's October in Bascom, North Carolina, and autumn will not go quietly. As temperatures drop and leaves begin to turn, the Waverley women are made restless by the whims of their mischievous apple tree ... and all the magic that swirls around it. But this year, first frost has much more in store. Claire Waverley has started a successful new venture, Waverley's Candies. Though her handcrafted confections -- rose to recall lost love, lavender to promote happiness and lemon verbena to soothe throats and minds -- are singularly effective, the business of selling them is costing her the everyday joys of her family, and her belief in her own precious gifts. Sydney Waverley, too, is losing her balance. With each passing day she longs more for a baby -- a namesake for her wonderful Henry. Yet the longer she tries, the more her desire becomes an unquenchable thirst, stealing the pleasure out of the life she already has. Sydney's daughter, Bay, has lost her heart to the boy she knows it belongs to ... if only he could see it, too. But how can he, when he is so far outside her grasp that he appears to her as little more than a puff of smoke? When a mysterious stranger shows up and challenges the very heart of their family, each of them must make choices they have never confronted before. And through it all, the Waverley sisters must search for a way to hold their family together through their troublesome season of change, waiting for that extraordinary event that is First Frost
Publisher: Thorndike, Maine : Center Point Large Print, 2015
Edition: Center Point Large Print edition
Copyright Date: ©2014
ISBN: 9781628994674
1628994673
Characteristics: 320 pages (large print) ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

g
glotet
Aug 22, 2017

Tantalizingly delicious writing!

f
foxylady31
Mar 13, 2017

A great follow-up to Garden Spells which I enjoyed very much. Sarah addison Allen is a great author. And I loved that she does Large print books. I am back to get a couple more of her books.

c
conniedaugherty
Aug 21, 2016

This a light, charming read, with appealing characters. The author's thoughts about relationships and life are affirmative; this is a welcome break from some of the darker books I read.

Took my time reading this, because Allen is such a good writer, and because I didn't want the story to end! The Waverley women and their unique gifts enchant. Also this is a sequel to Garden Spells, about Claire's special cooking powers and her often wayward family. And the magic apple tree. I want a empathetic apple tree in my yard!
Kris L.

TSCPL_MichelleM Jun 03, 2016

Loved getting to come back to Bascom, NC and spend some time with the Waverlys.

k
KathyS82
Dec 09, 2015

Always magical and always great to spend time with the Waverleys.

PimaLib_MaryG Sep 21, 2015

I love Sarah Addison Allen. This book picks up the thread of her first novel "Garden Spells", but ten years later. Every bit as good.

booklady413 Sep 17, 2015

As a sequel to Garden Spells, this magical novel is all that you would e xpect from Sarah Addison Allen.

l
lpreston214
Jul 17, 2015

This second visit to Bascom, NC is just as satisfying as the first (Garden Spells). Things are going well for the Waverley women who each have a magical talent except that the time leading up to first frost is a bit unsettling. Things can go kind of crazy. When a strange man shows up threatening to upset everything for Claire, she discovers the real Waverley magic: the power of family.

b
Belauthor
Jul 01, 2015

I always enjoy Sarah Addison Allen's magic realism or Southern Gothic literary cuisine.

View All Comments

Summary

Add a Summary

DanniOcean Feb 17, 2015

Most folks look forward to spring as a time of celebration, a time of renewal. Not so the Waverly women of Bascom. They look forward to the first frost of the autumn, when their strange apple tree - the one with fruit that will show you the most momentous event of your life should you dare take a bite - bursts into unseasonal bloom with a blizzard of white flowers.

It’s been about ten years since Sydney returned to Bascom with her daughter Bay, and reconnected with her sister Claire. Claire, whose food can turn friends into lovers or cause feuding families to suddenly declare peace though they can never explain why, has turned her talents to hard candies, candies that are in demand across the country. Sydney’s hair salon is always busy – a style from Sydney and a job interview will go well, a parking violation will be forgiven, a sales pitch will be successful. Evanelle still wakes up with the urge to give random things to random people that they will need, for reasons that will only become apparent much later. And Bay, the Waverly who always knows where things belong, knows that she belongs with a certain boy – a boy from whom she can see tendrils of smoke curling, his personal misery burning him from within – a boy who doesn’t know she exists.

And Bay is not the only unhappy Waverly woman – Evanelle is feeling her eighty-nine years, and fears for her best friend, Fred. Sydney desperately wants to have another child, with her beloved Henry – she wants it so badly her hair begins turning red of its own volition. And Claire’s booming business is consuming her leaving her with little time to spend with her husband and daughter Mariah, a daughter who doesn’t seem to have anything Waverly about her at all. But this is nothing compared to the threat she will face before first frost finally settles in, a threat that shakes the Waverly women to their very core.

Fans of Joanne Harris and Alice Hoffman will find Sarah Addison Allen’s stories slightly more genteel, but no less engrossing. Find First Frost and Ms Allen’s first novel of the Waverly’s, Garden Spells at spl.bibliocommons.com under the tag Shelf Life Reviewed.

siammarino Jan 29, 2015

First frost is a special day of the year for the Waverly women, which they celebrate with a feast outside under the mysterious apple tree that blooms in the fall. A touching story about women who know who they are and what their gifts are.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MARINet

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top