Chronology of the Cold War, 1917-1992

Chronology of the Cold War, 1917-1992

Book - 2006
Rate this:
More than just a timeline, the Chronology of the Cold War is in-depth chronological narrative organized into sections. Each section carries a clear date and summary heading. The five major sections are

I. Cold Peace, 1917-1940
II. The Strange Alliance, 1941-1945
III. Containment and Détente, 1946-1975
IV. Confrontation & Conciliation, 1976-1991
V. Epilogue

Based on sections of the Chronological History of U.S. ForeignRelations (Routledge 2003), the book includes significant additional material on Russia, China, arms control, and the Cold War in the Third World. This easy-to-use reference also includes an introductory section reviewing the history leading up to the Cold War from 1917 to 1945, a general bibliography of resources on the Cold War and is illustrated with photographs from presidential libraries and 18 maps.
Publisher: New York : Routledge, 2006
ISBN: 9780415973397
Characteristics: xix, 700 p. : ill., maps ; 29 cm
Additional Contributors: Burns, Richard Dean


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at MARINet

To Top