Select language, opens an overlay
The Saturdays

The Saturdays

Book - 2002
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
Four New York City siblings decide to pool their resources so that each can do a special thing on the Saturday that is his turn to receive the combined allowance
Publisher: New York : Henry Holt, 2002
ISBN: 9780805070606
0805070605
9781435255296
1435255291
9780312375980
0312375980
Characteristics: 177 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
AndreaG_KCMO Mar 30, 2021

Each vignette is so special. There is an abundance of detail so glorious to children who have, in reality, very little autonomy or adventure outside of home and school. Even the Melendy home captures the imagination with one floor entirely overrun by the children's games and hobbies. And the lighthouse! I will be ordering the next few volumes ASAP.

n
navy_dolphin_421
Nov 05, 2019

A fun and wonderful book! Fans of "The Penderwicks" and "The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street" will love this.

s
superreader64
Feb 16, 2018

I did not read this book as a child. As an adult, I loved it! I highly recommend this book starting with 4th grade and up to adults. This book was mentioned in the article, More Kid Books to Reread and Love, in the Sunday Minneapolis Star Tribune July 30, 2017. It's about the adventures of four siblings living in New York during the 1940's. Great book!

KCLSCarrie Aug 03, 2017

I read the Melendy books soooooo many times growing up, and I am so happy I stayed up until 3am to discover that I think this book is still just as awesome as it was when I was 10. I'm even happier that it holds up to modern adult reading without feeling particularly dated.

a
AngieKC12
Dec 09, 2016

Great kids book about a close-knit family of 4 siblings that work together to help each other out, discovering that sometimes it's better to be in the company of others rather than do things by themselves. Full of adventure, about a time we can only dream about (NYC in the 1940's, when 10 year olds could roam the streets alone without fear). First book in the series, and I enjoyed them all! My class of 5th and 6th graders also loved the book!

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MARINet

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top