Three Plays

Three Plays

Book - 1980
Rate this:
Set in a devastated Berlin one month after the close of the Second World War, Berlin has been acclaimed as 'ambitious . . . filled with brilliantly drawn characters, mesmerizingly readable, and disturbingly convincing' by the Sunday Telegraph . An electrifying thriller in the tradition of Joseph Kanon and Alan Furst, Berlin is a page-turner and an intimate portrait of Germany before, during, and after the war. It is 1945 in the American sector of occupied Berlin, and a German boy has discovered the body of a beautiful young woman in a subway station. Blonde and blue-eyed, she has been sexually assaulted and strangled with a chain. When the bodies of other young women begin to pile up it becomes clear that this is no isolated act of violence, and German and American investigators will have to cooperate if theyare to stop the slaughter. Author Pierre Frei has searched the wreckage of Berlin and emerged with a gripping whodunit in which the stories of the victims themselves provide an absorbing commentary. There is a powerful pulse buried deep in the rubble.
Publisher: New York : Grove Press : distributed by Random House, 1980
ISBN: 9780802143297
Characteristics: xxiv, 307 p. ; 19 cm
Additional Contributors: Hart, Moss 1904-1961


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number



Find it at MARINet

To Top