The Oresteia

The Oresteia

Book - 1975
Average Rating:
Rate this:
The most famous series of ancient Greek plays, and the only surviving trilogy, is the "Oresteia" of Aeschylus, consisting of "Agamemnon," "Choephoroe," and "Eumenides." These three plays recount the murder of Agamemnon by his queen Clytemnestra on his return from Troy with the captive Trojan princess Cassandra; the murder in turn of Clytemnestra by their son Orestes; and Orestes' subsequent pursuit by the Avenging Furies (Eumenides) and eventual absolution.Hugh Lloyd-Jones's informative notes elucidate the text, and introductions to each play set the trilogy against the background of Greek religion as a whole and Greek tragedy in particular, providing a balanced assessment of Aeschylus's dramatic art.
Publisher: New York : Viking Press, 1975
ISBN: 9780670528325
Characteristics: 343 p. ; 24 cm
Additional Contributors: Fagles, Robert


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment
Mar 27, 2017

Ted Hughes's translation is magnificent . It is modern without compromising the narrative

Aug 10, 2016

I don't know if it's the translation or my lack of knowledge about the ancient Greeks, but I found these stories difficult to follow. The notes did a good job of helping me with the 1st 2 stories, but the 3rd one remained bewildering.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at MARINet

To Top